The Joy of Knowing

IMG_5240

Sometimes I’m not sure if I should write. I hesitate. My pen freezes and confidence wanes. “Who do you think you are?” I tell myself. I’m not a “spiritual giant” and have only 31 years of life experience. Not much. What could I possibly have to say? I’m a stay at home mom, picking up toys, giving piggyback rides, and feeding my people who live here.

It isn’t flashy or Instagram worthy. I’m not Ann Voskamp or John Piper or Beth Moore. But you know who I am? A daughter of the King. Not only that but loved and chosen.

When I am still and allow this truth to sink in, my spirit cannot even handle all the emotions. It’s like fireworks inside, feeling as if my heart just might actually burst. As His children God calls us to go and be a witness to the things He has done.

“Come and see what God has done, how awesome His works in man’s behalf!” (Psalm 66:5)

This calling is for every believer not just the ones with a big platform. Our identity is not wrapped up in how many “Likes” we get on social media. In fact in many ways that can chain us back to our flesh. We’re free, you and I, no longer bound to comparison or insecurity. We still do it, but it isn’t what Jesus intended. He has better things in store for His own.

When we rest in the knowledge of His grace toward us and have faith that we belong to God, the fruit of our lives will tell us who we are. So, who do you think you are? I know to whom I belong. I can speak and write and live with every confidence because my life has the ability to honor the Father when His Name is made famous.

You have a part too. All of God’s children play a role in adorning the Gospel. Wherever you live in the world is exactly the place you need to be, speaking the name of Jesus. The gifts He has given you also serve a purpose to showcase His love for others and His glory. Go and live and be whom the Lord purposes you to be with the joy of knowing you belong and you have a place here.

 

Grace upon grace,

April

 

Leave a Reply

