Grace upon grace

cropped-dreamstimefree_1812841.jpgWe live in a graceless world. That’s why I chose to start this blog. Hopefully here you can find some grace. We need more of it every. single. day. Grace is a beautiful thing; its multi-faceted. I chose ‘grace’ as my word for 2015 to think about and meditate upon. As I’ve been mulling it over in my brain, I see at least 3 aspects of grace.

The first is God’s precious grace to us. It truly is amazing, because I definitely don’t deserve it.ย His salvation to us is the most incredible grace given. It is sacred. Faith and grace are intermingled in God’s redeeming work toward us. “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith-and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God- not by works, so that no one can boast” (Ephesians 2:8-9 NIV). His grace also keeps me going each day because you know what? I’m going to mess up! Sin is a part of the human condition, even for a believer. We are still bound to the flesh, but not for forever, praise God! Paul lamented over the strife of the two natures when he said, “I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do” (Romans 7:15 NIV). We do have now the presence of the Holy Spirit, who helps us in our weakness, which is a part of God’s grace to us.

Another form of grace would be showing ourselves grace. I don’t know about you, but I am quick to beat myself up with harsh words and critical thoughts. That is not how God wants His children to live! If I am walking in truth, I won’t be so likely to condemn myself. I can use Scripture to defeat my inner critic. The Bible says, “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus” (Romans 8:1 NIV). I am definitely flawed and sinful. I may get impatient with my son (and yell), easily irritated with my husband, or just drop the ball somewhere in the course of a day. But I am covered in Christ’s righteousness, so even when I do fail I can come before His throne of grace, asking for forgiveness. Sweet grace.

The last aspect that I think is very important, is showing grace to others. Have you ever said or done something you wish you could take back? I say something stupid or thoughtless about once a day (okay maybe more than that). In that moment, I am needing grace. I am hoping the other person will forgive what was said or done, and extend grace to this poor sinner. I think when we show grace to others (because remember, it is something that we don’t deserve), it’s a powerful demonstration of Christ at work in us. It is a beautiful picture of how the Church is to act and be like Jesus. And isn’t that our goal anyway? To be more like Him?

The Valley of Vision has a prayer in it that is completely perfect for what I want grace in my life to look like. Here’s a part of it:

“Every new duty calls for more grace than I now possess, but not more than is found in Thee, the divine Treasury in whom all fullness dwells. To Thee I repair forย grace upon grace, until every void made by sin be replenished and I am filled with all Thy fullness”.

Grace upon grace,

April

3 thoughts on “Grace upon grace

  1. April this post is so appropriate for me. I was just thinking how quick I am to judge both myself and others, and how I need to extend Christian love to all. I need to be aware that my body is the temple of the Holy Spirit and I have Him constantly with me and He is helping me if I let Him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

